It’s so easy to complain.  In fact, as humans … I believe one of our biggest character flaws is that we complain … about anything and everything.  However, on days like today, Thanksgiving, you see our humans actually put aside all the BS and say what they’re actually thankful for.  It’s good to see this.  I actually enjoyed waking up today and reading my FB and Instagram feeds, while enjoying a cup of coffee (or two or three) and seeing that people actually can be decent.

I, myself, have SO MUCH to be thankful for.  I’ve blogged before on how my life is completely different from what I dreamt of as a young girl, or even thought about while I was in high school.  My life definitely took a different path than expected.  I changed my mind last minute and stayed home to go to college, whereas when I was in high school, I couldn’t wait to leave.  I’m so thankful for this choice I made because it allowed me to stay close to my parents, who I am super close with.  I see them on a weekly basis, several times a week.  I believe this is necessary.  They are truly amazing people who have raised wonderful kids, and are now spoiling their grandkids.  My sister moved to Atlanta when she went to college, and she’s lived there ever since.  She is SO missed, and I beg her to move home all the time.  I couldn’t imagine living so far away.  However, I’m thankful for having such a close bond with my sister.  She is one of the greatest people I know, without a doubt.  Although we live so far away from each other, NO ONE could come between us.  Not to mention, she has given this Aunt Chickie TWO amazing nephews, Homeskillet and P-funk.

My choice to stay home also allowed me to grow my relationship with Z.  When we first started dating, I wouldn’t allow myself to get too close because I had big plans to move away.  I never thought we would get married, much less even date after high school.  Love changes A LOT of things.  In fact, he was one of the biggest influences for me to stay home.  I had my heart BROKEN before being with Z.  I know, a lot of you folks who know we’ve been together for half of our lives are thinking right now, how could you have your heart broken before Z, y’all have been dating since you were 15.  Well, I did.  Enough said, and no I won’t mention anymore details because it’s the PAST.  Anyway, Z picked up all those pieces and made me believe that there were decent guys out there.  I tried to stop it from happening, but I couldn’t … I fell in love.  Now, we are those high school sweethearts that everyone LOVES to HATE, ha.  We have a great marriage, and we’re best friends.  Yes, we fight from time to time, who doesn’t?  Not to mention, he gave me the most ADORABLE baby in the world, Maddox Michael Morgan.  I can’t believe how incredibly blessed I am to be that youngin’s mama.  He is an amazing child who will go far in life, you just wait.

Let’s see, what else am I thankful for???  OH YEAH …. My AMAZING friends.  My bestie Abby has been there since day 1.  Well, technically day 15, because I’m 15 days older than her.  We were literally crib buddies at daycare.  We have been inseparable since then.  She is truly a sister, although not by blood, but definitely by choice.  Although we’re complete opposites in so many ways, I could not imagine my life without her, period.  My Whoadie Carrie; I never thought I could become such great friends with a damn Yankee, ha!  She has been the friend that has seen me at my absolute worst and been there, without fail, to pick up the pieces.  My drinking buddy, singing buddy, and talk about jealous bitches buddy.  These two ladies right here are my soulmates, and wonderful aunts to M3.

My 2 G’s, Goose and Gunny … who always protect me, even if it means threatening to kill someone. Seriously. It’s happened. Not even kidding. Ha.  I’ve known Goose for longer than anyone, except Abby (she will ALWAYS trump all on that card).  Bless it, our relationship is always misunderstood by a lot of folks, because they don’t have the bond that we do.  Through all the shit that we have put each other through the past 17-18 years, we’re still there for each other, fighting like cats and dogs the whole time, but still there, always will be.  Gunny; my marine, my best friend’s guy, my bro.  Although I wanna ring his neck a lot, he ALWAYS puts me, Z, and Maddox up on a pedestal, and would do anything for us.

This next guy is so special to me, My Supernate, My Nasty Nate.  He is the absolute definition of strength and has been through absolute hell in his life.  Although it’s been hard for him not to fall down a few times, I have always been there to pick him up, and even carry him sometimes.  He’s my Glennville Redneck Whiskey Drinkin Brotha.  I could text him at 3am and ask to borrow 300 bucks, and he wouldn’t hesitate or even flinch at all.

These next two lovies are “newer” friends, who I have grown so close to over the past year. “Lyssa”, Alyssa: my “we will kill you if you look at us the wrong way” chick.  If I ever need to go mount up and rough someone up, she’s my girl to go to.  She’s the true definition of a ride or die chick.  Don’t get me wrong though, she’s super sweet to me and I love her so!  My sweet lovie “Vic”, Victoria … who I have officially adopted as my little sis.  She has the ability to make me laugh when all I want to do is cry.  She is always there to listen and let me vent, and she will be driving the getaway car when me and Lyssa do something hoodrat. Ha.  I will always be there to protect and look after this chick.

There are countless other friends, and if I blogged about them all, I could write a novel.  There are some of them who I have lost touch with, some of them who I have reconnected with, some of them who I miss dearly.  There are some who I believe I will get to know even better in the upcoming year.  To all of you, I am thankful for the memories and for future memories to be made.

I’m thankful for working for a great company, that not only allows me to be passionate about my career, but provides me with a steady income to provide for my family.  Although we live in a starter home, still, it’s a cozy home filled with love, memories, toys, laughter, dog hair and wagging tails, and junk.  Could it be cleaner? Sure it could, maybe I’ll worry about that more when Maddox is grown and gone.  For now, I’d rather spend the time making memories.  So, this Thanksgiving, and every day, I am thankful to be so blessed.  Life. Is. Good.